Friday, November 24, 2017

What's Your Love Language?

This blog was prepared by LipsnLiqs in her own personal capacity. The opinions expressed in this article are the author's own.

We live in a world where we all want to be loved but we just don't know how to explain to our partners the type of love that best suits us. Gary Chapman, the author of The 5 Love Languages, has broken down the five types of love every human wishes to receive. Words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and physical touch are the ways individuals want to receive love. Some people may relate with two or three of the love languages but we all have one that rises above the rest. As we explain the Love Languages in more detail, take the opportunity to see which of the five languages you speak best. 

Words Of Affirmation 

Do you get weak in the knees every time you hear the words 'I love you'? Do you cheeks get rosy red when your partner tells you just how beautiful you are? If you said 'yes' to any of those questions, your love language is Words Of Affirmation. Simple compliments, words and statements of endearment and pleasant 'thanks you's' hold great value to you. But because of that, when a partner says something that rubs you the wrong way, those words may cut deep and it could take you a very long time to get over it. If you're single, looking for a partner and you identify with Words Of Affirmation as your Love Language, focus on people who are forthcoming with their thoughts but stay aware for the people who just may be good with words. You must also understand that not everything that comes out of your partners mouth should be a compliment. 

Quality Time 

If the thought of getting cozy in your onesies in front of the television, cuddled up to watch a holiday movie sipping on hot cups of Bailey's cocoa warms your heart, Quality Time as the Love Language that speaks to you. For you, words don't hold as much weight as actions do. You need your partner to be there for you to supply you with their undivided attention whether it's while you both watch a holiday movie or when you just need someone to listen to the events of your crazy day. Canceled dates or noticing that your partner is distracted while the both of you are together will rub you the wrong way. When looking for a partner, find someone who values time over money but you must also be willing to sacrifice some of your time and understand that your partner can't possibly spend every waking moment with you.

Receiving Gifts 

This one is pretty simple – you like gifts! Whether your partner chooses to surprise you with flowers at work or by getting you your favourite lip chap because they heard you were running low, those small acts make you feel loved, heard and appreciated. For partners who are with someone who loves receiving gifts, try not to get caught up in the hullabaloo of wearing out your wallet. When it comes to gift giving it's the details that count. Listen to your partner, remember the things they said they need or the things they like then give it to them. When your love language is gift receiving it doesn't always mean you are materialistic – know the difference between the two. 

Acts Of Service 

After a hard day of work all you want to do is get home, undress and kick up your feet with a glass of wine but, instead, you have to go to the bank and deposit your rent money or do groceries for the rest of the week. It would be nice if you had someone to take the load off once in a while, and that is what people whose Love Language is Acts Of Service are after. You want your partner to understand that your life is rough and who offers their service in any way they can to make life that much easier. You don't like empty promises, laziness or people who make life harder. When looking for love, find someone whose actions speak louder than words. 

Physical Touch 

I think everyone resonates with this love language to some extent but for those who prefer this above the rest are very sensitive to touch. Any form of positive physical connection such as a kiss, hand holding, head rub or hand rested on the nape of their back makes them feel protected and appreciated. Touch, for them, is not only practiced in the bedroom but not all of them like public displays of affection. Because these lovers are so sensitive to touch they will be able to feel when something is wrong or when a touch is ingenuine. Make sure your movements are filled with love and you will more than likely keep your partner happy.  

So, which Love Language did you resonate with most? If you're still not sure, click here and take the test! Once you've found out, find creative ways of communicating your new found information to your partner – it'll give both of you the opportunity to become a part of a deeper bond and a more understanding relationship. Happy Explorations!!


Post a Comment